Posted in Uncategorized

Cooking? Me?

I don’t have an emotional connection with food. I can appreciate good food, but can’t exactly feel it. Or experience it. Which, I think, would explain my lack of cooking senses.

I’ve tried cooking. It is an art, and even though I’m not good at it, I still want to do it. Just so I know I haven’t missed out any good opportunities. And most of my tries were a disaster.

There was this one time when I put an egg in the microwave to boil. I didn’t touch the microwave for a week after the egg blasted.

But nothing that major has happened. They were all just tasteless. Even I couldn’t enjoy them.

The only thing I love cooking and am comfortable with  is egg. Even after the disaster, I still eat it. Egg bhurjies, omlettes (Just the salt and pepper ones; not the ones with cream; but sometimes with onions and coriander and chilli powder for my mum), gravies with egg and different types of egg fries.

The only reason I started cooking with eggs was because my sister was too much of a chicken to crack them. Which was a good thing or else I wouldn’t have known that experimenting with eggs always resulted  in eating more of half boiled eggs than the actual dish itself. I thoroughly enjoyed that.

The last time I tried to cook with eggs was this dish from a North-Eastern state, the name of which I don’t know. I’d eaten that when they had a food fest going on. I tried to replicate that for my sister a she’s always complaining on how I get to eat lots of different kinds of food when she doesn’t. It was pretty simple, I guess. I just showed my mum the picture I took and she told me what ingredients to use.

WP_20140912_001

I’ll just name it myself: Deep fried Eggs

Ingredients:

  • Eggs- As many as you require
  • For the batter: Corn flour and maida in 1:1 ratio
  • Half a spoon of rice flour (For the crispiness)
  • Chilli Powder (For however spicy you want)
  • Salt to taste
  • Oil to fry

Method:

  • Boil the eggs completely and crack them and keep aside
  • Heat oil in a kadai for deep frying
  • In a mixing bowl, add the corn flour, maida, rice flour, chilli powder and salt and mix them thoroughly
  • Slowly add water and keep mixing until it has come to a consistency where the batter can stick to any surface; also make sure that there no lumps
  • Dip the boiled eggs in the batter and cover them completely.
  • Fry them until golden brown
  • Garnish it as you please

When I ate this in the college, I only tasted the egg. Which is always heavenly. The outside crispiness was lost and it had become soggy. But, if you make it fresh, I’m sure you’ll enjoy making it than eating it!

(More egg recipes on request!)

ಲೇಖಕರು:

Books and mail make my day :) I'm slowly discovering art. But crafts help me lift my mood. Writing is important. Family is the best.

2 thoughts on “Cooking? Me?

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

