Posted in Book Review, Books

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

I received a free e-copy of the book via NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

This was originally written for TheBookClub.

The cover is just fantastic. This book maybe cover buys for a lot of people. And after you read the book, the cover will make so much more sense.

My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.

The whole blurb is so YA .It felt really clichéd, like I had seen it somewhere (TFIOS) but something about it drew me toward it. As soon as I started reading it, I could not let go.

The writing was beautiful. It was very ordinary in an exceptional way. It was very detailed, but not boring, as sometimes descriptions tend to be. The whole story is paced beautifully. It’s not too slow or fast.

The story was going pretty well, up until the climax happened. But, more on that later.

What I liked about this book is the concept of falling in love with boys-next-door. I may be a little biased here, but I loved the way their relationship was building. Their emails, their mime acts through the window, everything.

It was funny. Relatable. She discovers a whole new world which was just as exciting, or probably more, as the world described in all the books she’s read.

I felt that the characters weren’t exceptionally great. It has an Afro-Asian narrator, Madeleine, who falls in love with the boy-next-door Olly. Madeleine sees only her mother and her Nurse, Carla.

Why do authors always make the protagonist, who usually has little or no life, an avid reader? It’s too much stereotyping, if you ask me. There are other things. There’s music, art, there’s science, but the authors always choose a reader. Always.

What didn’t work for me was the ending. I really thought Yoon was going to end it in a way that was no so clichéd, but I was so disappointed.

My Rating: 3/5

Recommendation: If you love YA no matter what, you might just love this book.

ಲೇಖಕರು:

Books and mail make my day :) I'm slowly discovering art. But crafts help me lift my mood. Writing is important. Family is the best.

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

