Posted in Me, prompts

The Transporter

Tell us about a sensation- a taste, a smell, a piece of music — that transports you back to childhood.

I curled up on the sofa at the window, in front of my old laptop with a Ghibli movie one dark afternoon. I was halfway through the movie when I felt water spray from the window to the back of my neck and on my arms. I breathe in the cool, moist air with the usual hint of clouds, soil, and very unusually, thunder and heat.

Then suddenly, I was in my school uniform, at 11 years old, listening to my Hindi teacher. I look to my left and saw one long bench in each row, where there were supposed to be two. I see that I’m sitting in the second last bench, next to my friend Nandan, who is sitting in the open corner of the bench, on my right. And I see why we have joined benches. I’m in my favourite glass-walled classroom, and it’s raining outside, causing the waster to spray inside the class on the side of the glass wall. The same side I was sitting.

The smell of rain mixed with a hint of thunder and cement was enchanting. The two old tube-lights didn’t create any shadows, which was so much more creepier than if the lights and the fans were out.

After a while, before school was out, it had stopped raining. But we didn’t move the benches away. The sun peeked out from behind the clouds, casting an orange glow all over the trees in the park and field opposite us, and also on the glass and inside the class room.

I looked down, my Ghibli is over. And the orange glow still over my old laptop screen.

ಲೇಖಕರು:

Books and mail make my day :) I'm slowly discovering art. But crafts help me lift my mood. Writing is important. Family is the best.

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

