Posted in Movies

Studio Ghibli (Part 7)

I watched Tale of the Princess Kaguya.

kaguya.jpg

This is the story about an old, poor couple who discovers a child in a mysterious, magical bamboo shoot and decides to raise the girl. Then, the father discovers that she should be a princess and that is why she was sent to them. So they build her a mansion and then soon she gets accepted by the royal family. Then there’s a twist.

For me, up until the “Princess” part came, I loved it. I loved how the girl was fun and carefree and lovable. Then her father had to ruin it.

I also loved he last bit. It was tragic, but so, so beautiful.

The best thing about this movie was the art. It was just simple brushstrokes but it conveyed feelings so well.

Here’s my ranking of all the Ghibli Movies I’ve watched:

  1. Totoro
  2. Whisper of the heart
  3. Howl’s moving Castle
  4. From up On Poppy Hill
  5. Arietty
  6. Only Yesterday
  7. Spirited Away
  8. Kiki’s delivery Service
  9. The Cat Returns
  10. Tale of the Princess Kaguya
  11. Ponyo
  12. Grave of the Fireflies
  13. Mononoke Hime
  14.  Tales from Earthsea
  15. Laputa

 

ಲೇಖಕರು:

Books and mail make my day :) I'm slowly discovering art. But crafts help me lift my mood. Writing is important. Family is the best.

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

