Posted in Family, prompts

Say Your Name

Write about your first name: Are you named after someone or something? Are there any stories or associations attached to it? If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?

After I was born, it seems that my parents had a debate about what to name me, as they hadn’t had the chance to name my sister (long story; for another day). My mother wanted to name me ‘Sindhu’, to match the first letters of my sister and herself. But then, my father intervened and decided to be a little selfish: he named me ‘Parinitha’ to match the first letter of his name, so that he doesn’t feel lonely in the later years. And in my early years, I used to cry when my dad picked me up. It seems I hated him.

I’m so sorry for that, pappa.

But later, he and I became a good team. He was the oldest in the family and I was the youngest; we played against the “S’s” in carom matches and won sometimes. We usually sat together on one side in hotels. We try new flavours and combination of food.

If I had the choice, (I still do) I would never, ever change my name. My name isn’t just an identity; it has become a part of who I am. And I’m proud of it.

ಲೇಖಕರು:

Books and mail make my day :) I'm slowly discovering art. But crafts help me lift my mood. Writing is important. Family is the best.

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

