Posted in Me, prompt, prompts, Writing

Poetry without a reason

Back of the Queue

I’ve been trying write some poetry with the one-word prompts sent to me daily by the lovely people at The Daily Post. The words are great; the only thing missing? My ability to try.

Ever since I started to explore poetry (on Social websites; not classics like Robert Frost of Edgar Allen Poe), I’ve always thought that you ought to go deep. The most common thing I find among those poets is that they would’ve had a rough past, which makes their poetry deep and heart-wrenching and sad and hopeful and interesting. And to top it off, it’s mostly all true.

I don’t get it. What if you don’t have a disturbing past or haven’t struggled enough in life or haven’t faced challenges or simply choose to ignore them all and still write poetry? Funny ones, witty ones. Even deep ones?

That’s my problem. I can write about BO all I want. If I can create a mood of deep thought in my poetry, doesn’t that make me good?

ಲೇಖಕರು:

Books and mail make my day :) I'm slowly discovering art. But crafts help me lift my mood. Writing is important. Family is the best.

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

