Posted in Family, Me

Extinct Apps

Going Obsolete.

Of all the technologies that have gone extinct in your lifetime, which one do you miss the most?

I wish I could say the Telegram, but I’m afraid that I’ve never used it and ashamed because of it, too. But I will go a little modern and talk about two Apps that was removed.

Sometime in the summer of 2012, after I had completed my 10th standard, I discovered this cool thing called “iGoogle”. It was an amazing place for me to use a variety of things: Hangman, Blogger, Weather and whatnot. I spent days and nights trying to use it and make it perfect looking, with the perfect image.

iGoogle-Start

And then, the next year, I found out that it was closing on November 1, 2013.

I was so sad for a while.

You know what made me more sad? Closing down MixRadio.

MixRadio was, hands down, the best radio ever. I discovered SO much music on this that I’ll be thanking this app for a long time. Whoever said Windows Phone (Nokia) sucks, will get hit by mosquito bat. I have no time for some stupid buzzing.

I discovered this when my sister’s phone’s memory card slot stopped working. I switched phones with her (both were Windows), since she had to travel longer distance than me. So I downloaded a few offline playlists, something that I never listened to before (Favourite Rock of all Times) and actually listened to it. Some were just AMAZING. Others, not so much. I could favourite the songs, but the downside was I could only skip 6 songs in an hour per playlist and I couldn’t choose what songs to play. I could download only four of those, and listened to them all the time I travelled. I branched out (little) towards rock music and developed little taste, too.

All in all, I miss this app.

Hope you’ll come back soon!

 

 

ಲೇಖಕರು:

Books and mail make my day :) I'm slowly discovering art. But crafts help me lift my mood. Writing is important. Family is the best.

5 thoughts on “Extinct Apps

  1. Greetings from Florida! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I really like the information you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home.
    I’m surprised at how fast your blog loaded on my cell phone ..
    I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyways, awesome blog!

    Like

  2. I really love your blog.. Great colors & theme. Did you develop this site
    yourself? Please reply back as I’m hoping to create my own personal site and would like to know where you got this from or
    what the theme is named. Kudos!

    Like

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

