Posted in Me, Writing

The Glass room feeling

Every new year, after a few weeks, there’s this feeling that I get every afternoon. I don’t know if I can describe it, but here I go.

When I was in 6th standard, we changed three classrooms. The second classroom we changed was on the second and the topmost floor, connecting the two buildings of the school. This room had a glass wall, through which we could look outside, but never be looked in. This room holds memories. Memories of best friends, long lost friends, last words, maturing, intense thoughts, hilarious questions (our maths teacher was pregnant; a boy from our class asked his best friend how our teacher got pregnant), counting airplanes out of the window, playing HOLLYWOOD and getting second top marks overall.

Whenever it rained, the water used to ever so slightly seep and spray into the classroom and it would get chilly. The people sitting on the glass wall side merged benches with the other side, so it became one long bench instead of two in every row. It spread warmth and happiness, even with the cold outside.

(I’m looking through my 2009 diary to find memories related to it. I wish there was a search button so I can easily find it.)

There’s this one time where I’ve written this:

…I’ve grown so much now. I know so many things. But these things, some experiences are just the beginning of life. But my experiences and feelings of 6th standard have filled my whole heart, which says “There’s not another year like that.” It makes the most of me. THIS IS WHO I AM.

March 1, 2012

I watched the theme songs of Chronicle of the Wings that afternoon.

I link to that year most because it was a year where I discovered a new world. I discovered manga. At the end of that year I resolved to become a manga artist. How hard can that be? I was already good at drawing.

(It is very hard.)

This one is from the first meet-up with my girls from school, after joining different PU colleges.

…Sunny was directly in front of me. It felt like Spring during 6th. Travelling by van, watching the tree go from bare to yellow flowers near Jupiter, the time I ate all those chocolates ‘n’ candies, the fun me ‘n’ Shravya used to have, sharing the sunlight with Nandan in the Glass room. I had vague memories of all these. The ground used to be filled with the small leaves of the big tree. Immediately, the bright green smaller leaves used to grow. What a sight!

August 20, 2012

Ridiculous texting trends back then.

…I don’t know why. Maybe I was just tired and hungry and let it get into my brain or I actually felt that. I had felt it before but couldn’t remember when. Talking to Sunny was even more different.

Different and Strange.

And then it flashed to me that this feeling was felt when I was in 6th in that “Glass room”. We were there during the months of July and August (more or less). Whether it was raining or cloudy or sunny or whatever might be the weather conditions, those were the happiest days of my life…

November 24, 2011

As I’m reading through my diary, there’s one massive change: handwriting. It is pretending-to-be-loopy-and-fancy-but-failing in the beginning and then for two years it becomes very pretty. Enter degree, it becomes goop all over again.

So, this is what I’ve been feeling since the third week of January. It is little early for the feeling, but I feel it.

ಲೇಖಕರು:

Books and mail make my day :) I'm slowly discovering art. But crafts help me lift my mood. Writing is important. Family is the best.

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

