Posted in Art, Books, Me, Weekend Coffee Share

Weekend Coffee Share #14

Instead of playing catch up on my poetry prompts, here I am, rehashing the last two, most exciting weeks of my life so far.

After that horrible week of tests, I thought I could use some good news and good vibes, so like I said on last Weekend Coffee Share, a few of us got together and decided to keep a stall at Meta.

Let’s start with the 10th of February. This was the day Meta was inaugurated.

It was a Friday and Friday is a dreadful day for my class because of Biochemistry lab. I so nicely asked the teachers if I could leave early because I had a competition but both the teachers flat out refused. It was blacked out poetry, and I’d never done it in my life so i really, really wanted to do it. Maybe it was the fury that both the teachers didn’t appreciate the finer things in life than chemistry, or simply the urge to participate in such an amazing contest, I finished my experiment quickly and left. I took part in the competition and it was really hard but so, so much fun! I’m planning on trying it again soon!

Saturday was Japan Habba prep day. I didn’t do much, but one thing I got to know was making those hexagonal paper balls. I loved doing them and I’m so glad I learnt to do it!

Sunday was Japan Habba. Honestly saying, I had more fun last year. This year, all I did was loiter around, showing Samudyatha around, then my sister, then DJ and Prince and then my parents. And then I spent time with the Graphic.Inc people who were having their “Mangafication” and gaming stall in one of the small rooms in the Auditorium. I didn’t even get to see any of the programmes, unfortunately. And for some reason I can’t really put my finger on, I didn’t even talk to most of the volunteers. Even if I did, I don’t know most of their names. It was, indeed, tiring, but I got so much stuff! I also got to wear a yukata with Sam!

And then, Monday came. Our stall was for three days, and we’d originally planned on keeping it on 13th, 14th and 18th February. Monday, the 13th, was our stall day. I was so excited for it! Our stall was originally called as A-SPIN, but now we don’t have a proper name. Moving on.

At our stall, on the 13th and 14th, most of the things were Valentine’s day stuff. I’m not bragging but we have some pretty awesome stuff. From deep thoughts to cutesy lovey-dovey stuff, we had everything. We had cards (greeting cards, postcards, gift cards), painted bulbs, fridge magnets, earrings, stickers and paperclips. The first day, because we didn’t have a table, we put it on the stage and for first timers, we sold them really well. The sale was the best on the first day, unfortunately, but we’re hoping it will be good tomorrow. Monday’s the charm!

All through the week, I’ve had competitions. Last Monday, I had fan fiction competition and even though mine wasn’t the most original of stories, I’m glad I wrote what I wrote. Wednesday was Headliners, and even though Parvathi and I didn’t win, we had an amazing time! And then on Thursday, a friend of ours from a senior class was having a house-warming ceremony. Sam, Prince, DJ and I went. And I’d missed Rajitha. It was amazing to meet her after so long.

img-20170219-wa0006

Then the most awaited day, Friday, came.

Friday was poetry Slam. On Wednesday night, I’d found out the theme for it: Losing it. It was something so generalized that I decided to play around with it, until I came to a conclusion that this will be about my childhood. It is definitely inspired by this post that I wrote a long time ago, I for Imagination. And I was polishing it a bit, here and there, and I was so excited for it. It was the most me thing that I’d ever written (surprise, surprise XD). But then, Fridays are a bane. Because the contest started at 4, I thought I could finish off the experiment by 4 and leave soon. But, we did this stupid, and I quote Smriti, “pointless experiment” which got over by 4:20. I hurried downstairs (the lab was in the third floor of the science block, and the poetry slam was in the other block) calling this girl I knew who was a major mart of Meta. To my devastation, I learned that the competition was over. I also saw the judge walking out of the gate, and it was none other than the amazing Joshua (who’d taken one lecture/workshop for Sam and me during Culture Journalism course and it was, hands down, the best workshop on writing that I’d ever been to). And I had dressed up for the performance!

I bought myself and Sam tea in the PG canteen with the money that I was supposed to pay for the Poetry Slam. I whined about it all the way home in my head, cursing my teacher for the experiment, cursing my other teacher for even keeping this pointless experiment in the syllabus. And my day was not done yet.

I had applied for the Teach For India Fellowship Programme 2017 and the awaited day was 18th February. But I got a mail a day early saying that I was not selected. It hurt.

That evening, I decided to order books to get rid of my sorrow. I ordered Red Queen, It Ends With Us and two other random books from BookChor. And I slept on the sorrow and it dampened quite a bit the next day.

Saturday, I had Children’s fiction contest. The starter was really good! If I had more time, I’d have written something good. Something worth reading. Sigh.

This was my two weeks. Most of it brushed under the carpet. Thank you for sticking around and reading my long, ranty post.

ಲೇಖಕರು:

Books and mail make my day :) I'm slowly discovering art. But crafts help me lift my mood. Writing is important. Family is the best.

One thought on “Weekend Coffee Share #14

  1. ಮರುಕೋರಿಕೆ (Pingback): Meta 2017 – pari617's Blog

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

