Posted in Books, Me, Weekend Coffee Share

Weekend Coffee Share #15

I thought I published this on Sunday night! Oh gosh.

Oh God. It’s been more than two months since I wrote one! I actually was supposed to write one last week, but I was so exhausted and excited that my exams got over and I’d have a week’s solitude (after which I need to prepare for an exam) for doing absolutely everything that I want to.

Or just do nothing at all.

Anyway, I have had a blast, these two weeks. I will start from the 28th April. That was the day that I wrote my last exam of my last semester at St Joseph’s college. After which we decided we cant to go out for lunch, as usual. At first, we planned to chill our for a bit at DJ’s house and then later go to Food Street in VV Puram, near Samudyatha’s house.

Then, of course, we had a long, long debate/discussion as to where else to go, because all of us were really hungry. We thought of Onesta, but Salka vetoed it. Nairika suggested The Chocolate Room, on Brigade Road, and we all agreed to go there, pulling Passang along with us.

The place was small but comfy and the food was mediocre. What mattered to me was how much time we’d spend there together. Which is why, we got together the next day also, at Smriti’s house. More on that later.

The waiter was such an annoying man. At first, only four of us were sitting at the only long, big table. We ordered food for four of us and little more snacks. While we were rattling off our items, the guy just stood staring at us. Normally, no matter who it is, waiters write down orders. This guy didn’t even blink an eye. We straight out asked him, “Don’t you want to write it down?” Because honestly, each of us had a food item and a drink, along with snacks until the rest of them came. And who did he think he is, Arul Mani?!

He said, “No, I can remember,” So we told him everything, going a little slow this time. He went away and came back after the rest of our peeps came. After taking their orders, he came back and brought a drink that none of us ordered. He just huffed and rolled his eyes and took it back.

This happened a second time. He didn’t stay quiet. “This is too much!” And we all burst into shouts and cries of “You should’ve written it down!” in various versions. HE went away without another word.

IMG-20170428-WA0005.jpg

After this lunch, we planned to meet at Smriti’s house for lunch the next day, to compensate for the Holi we missed. We watched Suicide Squad partway on Amazon Prime while waiting for the rest of them, and after everyone came, we had lunch. Like last time, Smriti’s mother had cooked us a delicious, elaborate lunch, not including those starter snacks that Smriti and her mother had made for a pre-lunch snack. Smriti’s plan was to go boating in the Madiwala lake near her house after lunch, and then swimming in the pool of her building.

When we went to the lake, it started raining. The officials at the boating centre said that until it stopped raining, there wasn’t much they could do. As we thought the rain slowed to a drizzle, it became heavier. In the end, we couldn’t go boating but we spent a good 30 minutes or so just staring at the lake and birds and skipping (or trying to) stones across the water, and talking about everything and nothing all at once. In the rain. It was so nice that I didn’t want to leave the lake.

After we got back to Smriti’s house, the boys went to pool and changed soon. I don’t swim. I don’t know how and I have that common fear of depths. So, I hadn’t planned on swimming at all. But Indu and Nairika pleaded and Smriti got me clothes to wear and I reluctantly agreed to get into the water only; I hadn’t agreed to swim yet.

I got into the kiddie pool first; standing and holding tightly to Nairika’s hand. We waded through that pool, which only came up to my knees. The I sat on the wall between the kiddie pool and the adults pool, lowering one leg at a time. The finally, Nairika coaxed me into standing in the shallow side of the pool. Then I eventually graduated to holding the length of rope between the pool dividing the shallow and deep ends. I also Submerged in the water and took a dip!

We were in the water in the rain for a good 45 minutes. Again, it was really nice. I did not want to leave.

After that the most eventful day was Wednesday 3 May. I went book shopping! Akka told me to meet her Higginbotham’s a little later in the evening. I had a 300 rupee voucher for books at The Bookworm. I went to MG Road, catching a bus from 4th Block Jayanagar, and walked all the way to Church street, where I found the old building of Bookworm. Just behind that complex is Church Street, and I went there, only to find out that Blossoms, Gangarams and The Bookworm were all in the same line. All of them are bookstores and old ones but in new buildings.

I went to Gangaram’s first, bought myself my very first Ruskin Bond book (because it is a very pretty 60th anniversary edition) and then to Bookworm. I stayed in Bookworm for a long time and then I didn’t know what to buy. SO I just bought a 150 rupee worth book, the second of the Eragon series, Eldest. The spine of the book is so so pretty!

Then I went to Higginbothams with Akka. It was a beautiful sight at first but after scouting the whole store, I was not sure I liked it. I prefered the smell and love of old books to new ones, I guess and Higginbothams only sold new ones. We spent more than two hours deciding what to buy, before i finally bought Anansi Boys and A thousand Nights, which was another total cover buy.

IMG-20170503-WA0001

And then this weekend I did work. I got my results on Saturday and I passed with first class! I  am officially a graduate!

Then my dad made me clean up my shelves and today, we had a ton more work.

And, tonight I will be leaving to Chikmagalur! It is a hill station with coffee estates and a beautiful climate. i will write about once I come back on Tuesday.

Tell about your two weeks! Or more!

ಲೇಖಕರು:

Books and mail make my day :) I'm slowly discovering art. But crafts help me lift my mood. Writing is important. Family is the best.

ನಿಮ್ಮದೊಂದು ಉತ್ತರ

