Studio Ghibli (Part two)

One of my best friends insisted that I watch My Neighbour Totoro after Howl’s Moving Castle. And I did.

totoro

My Neighbour Totoro is a fantasy film. It explores the world of Nature spirits and their relationship with two sisters, Satsuki and Mei.

I loved this movie. This may be my favourite Ghibli movie, and it’s only my third 😀

This movie was perfect. From start to finish.

I like how there was no love interest and for once, this movie’s happy ending did not bother me. I love the sister relationship, it is so similar to mine that I cried in lots of places, especially the end!

I loved the innocence they had. The innocent belief. The mutual trust between the sisters and the nature spirits. I loved it all.

I recommend that EVERYONE should watch this movie at least once in their life times.

The fourth Ghibli movie I watched was the very first one that was made: Laputa: Castle in the sky.

laputa__castle_in_the_sky_by_syntetyc-d5x2syg

I asked the people who loved pop culture as to what to watch next and I was bombarded with suggestions until energy told me to watch it in chronological order. So, this was the very first one.

I liked the concept of a Floating Island in the Sky. It enchanted me. The music was good. Gave me goosebumps in some places. I also liked the pirates very much!

The ending was somewhat sad, but that’s not why I didn’t like it. I didn’t like it because, what happens to them after? Do they even reach earth safely?!

But it was okay. Totoro still stands first. Always.